#BitterMedicine by @itsamia

As a descendant of the Chinese god of medicine, Elle was destined to be a doctor. Instead, she is underemployed as a magical calligrapher at the fairy temp agency. Meanwhile dreamy half-elf Luc, the agency’s top security expert, has his own problems and secrets. In this xianxia-inspired contemporary fantasy, a Chinese immortal and a French elf navigate romance, family loyalty, and workplace demands.

***

First, the ink.

– CHAPTER ONE

***

(@TachyonPub, 14 March 2023, e-book, 392 pages, ARC from the publisher via @NetGalley)

***

FIND OUT MORE

***

I really enjoyed Bitter Medicine. The only thing that let the book down are the sex scenes. I’m not a prude but I felt these distracted from the storyline which I enjoyed a lot more. I found myself scrolling past the sex scenes to get to the next scene. I loved the blend of fantasy and the real world. I thought the world-building was excellent. I think Elle is a great character. I felt connected to her. Luc is a great character as well. The book gets unexpectedly dark at times which I loved. I had a great time reading this.

1 Comment

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.