Lucy by The Sea by Elizabeth Strout

As a panicked world goes into lockdown, Lucy Barton is uprooted from her life in Manhattan and bundled away to a small town in Maine by her ex-husband and on-again, off-again friend, William. For the next several months, it’s just Lucy, William, and their complex past together in a little house nestled against the moody, swirling sea.

Rich with empathy and emotion, Lucy by the Sea vividly captures the fear and struggles that come with isolation, as well as the hope, peace, and possibilities that those long, quiet days can inspire. At the heart of this story are the deep human connections that unite us even when we’re apart. The pain of a beloved daughter’s suffering, the emptiness that comes from the death of a loved one, the promise of a new friendship, and the comfort of an old, enduring love.

***

Like many others, I did not see it coming.

– ONE

***

(Bolinda Audio, 1 November 2022, audiobook, 8 hours 21 minutes, borrowed from Glasgow Libraries via BorrowBox)

***

FIND OUT MORE

***

I really enjoyed Lucy by The Sea. I’ve enjoyed other books featuring Lucy Barton so was looking forward to listening to this. I loved the fact the book is set in lockdown. I’m not a huge fan of books set during the pandemic/lockdown as I prefer something original but it works perfectly here as Lucy and William and their shared history. I also liked references to current events such as George Floyd. The book isn’t just about Lucy although she narrates it but her family and past history with William and David. I also liked the fact the author’s other book; Olive Kitteridge is referenced. This delighted me for some reason.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.