My Year Of Meats by @ozekiland

In a single eye-opening year, two women, worlds apart, experience parallel awakenings. In New York, Jane Takagi-Little has landed a job producing Japanese docu-soap My American Wife! But as she researches the consumption of meat in the American home, she begins to realize that her ruthless search for a story is deeply compromising her morals. Meanwhile, in Tokyo, housewife Akiko Ueno diligently prepares the recipes from Jane’s programme. Struggling to please her husband, she increasingly doubts her commitment to the life she has fallen into. As Jane and Akiko both battle to assert their individuality on opposite sides of the globe, they are drawn together in a startling story of strength, courage, love.

***

The American Wife sits on the floor in front of a fireplace.

***

(@canongatebooks, 1 August 2013, paperback, 351 pages, bought from @LRBbookshop via a #SubscriptionBox)

***

GET A COPY

***

I’ve read and enjoyed other books by the author so was looking forward to this. I loved the book and enjoyed it a bit more than I was expecting. I loved the way the story is told from both Jane and Akiko’s point of view as you learn their different stories and how the show impacts both their lives in positive and negative ways. The book has a simple premise and the book is much more intense and emotional. I was expecting a light read and got the opposite as the book touches on some pretty dark areas. I loved it.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.