#VoodooHeart by @JohnEverson

When Detective Lawrence Ribaud wakes alone in a bloody bed with his wife missing, he knows this is more than just a mysterious case of murder. His wife is the latest victim in a string of bizarre disappearances. All across New Orleans, on one night each month, people are vanishing, leaving behind nothing but a pool of blood on the bed sheets… and an abandoned heart. Ribaud doesn’t believe in voodoo, but he soon finds himself moving through the underbelly of a secret society of snakes, sacrifices and obscene rituals in search of the mysterious Black Queen … and the curse of her Voodoo Heart.

***

I see them every day.

CHAPTER 1, TUESDAY, JUNE 18, HONEYMOON

***

(@flametreepress, 20 October 2020, 256 pages, ebook, #ARC from the publisher via #NetGalley and voluntarily reviewed, #BlogTour 19 October via @RandomTTours)

***

GET A COPY

***

I’d never heard of the author before but the blurb sounded like something I’d really enjoy and I’ve been impressed by other work from the publisher. I wasn’t sure what to make of this book. I don’t think I’ve read voodoo fiction before. The main character is not easy to like, he’s a serial cheater and a bit lazy for a detective. I usually need to get behind a character to engage with a book and although I disliked him a lot he was strangely appealing and I had a bit of a soft spot for him. The book is so well written and engaging I forgave characterisation flaws. It’s quite gory at times but never gets too much or OTT. The most enjoyable aspect of the book is the voodoo lore in the book. It seemed to ring true and I’m sure the author did his research. Overall, I had a great time with this which was a bit different for me. 

2 Comments

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.