Red Suitcase by @YPPLaureate

Naomi Shihab Nye’s fourth collection bursts forth with the acclaimed poet’s generous vision. Through her eyes, ordinary situations become remarkable|

Poet, teacher, essayist, anthologist, songwriter and singer, Naomi Shihab Nye is one of the country’s most acclaimed writers. Her voice is generous; her vision true; her subjects ordinary people, and ordinary situations which, when rendered through her language, become remarkable. In this, her fourth full collection of poetry, we see with new eyes-a grandmother’s scarf, an alarm clock, a man carrying his son on his shoulders.

***

[Because everything still bears / the sweet iron taste of experiment / a penny pressed to the tongue TRAVEL ALARM]

***

(BOA Editions, 20 December 2013, first published 31 October 1994, 90 pages, ebook, borrowed from @natpoetrylib via @OverDriveLibs)

***

GET A COPY

***

I’d never heard of the poet before I stumbled across this collection. I’m glad I did. I was impressed by this collection and the quality of the poems within it. The poems are very prose-like which I enjoy. The poems are beautifully written, full of rich prose and detail. I enjoyed every poem here.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.