The Talisman by Stephen King & Peter Straub

You are about to take a journey…

A terrifying trip across America where young Jack Sawyer is searching for the Talisman, the only thing that can save his dying mother. His quest takes him into the menacing Territories where violence, surprise and the titanic struggle between good and evil reach across a mythic landscape.

***

On September 15th, 1981, a boy named Jack Sawyer stood where the water and land come together, hands in the pockets of his jeans, looking out at the steady Atlantic – 1, CHAPTER 1, THE ALHAMRA INN AND GARDENS

***

(Sphere, I January 1996, paperback, 784 pages, can’t remember where I picked up my copy)

***

FIND OUT MORE

***

I loved re-reading The Talisman. I have only read this book a few times and not as much as King’s other works. I’m glad I re-read it with The Dark Tower still fresh in my mind as I could clearly see the links to The Dark Tower which I haven’t noticed before. My copy has very small print so it felt like it took an age to read every page. The copy is pretty dog-eared so I might buy a new copy to see if the print is any larger. The story of Jack and his quest to save his dying mother and her twinner in an alternative world known as the Territories is engrossing. I loved this book and would recommend it.

5/5

***

I’m currently reading through the lists of books with some connection to The Dark Tower from Stephen King’s own website, https://stephenking.com/darktower/connections/. According to this link the connections between The Dark Tower and The Talisman are:

  1. The Talisman is not specifically listed on the Dark Tower Connections link above. However, the sequel Black House gets a mention: Much of the action of The Talisman (and some of the action of Black House) takes place in a land known as The Territories.  The Territories are mentioned in The Waste Lands. I think this information  is also relevant for The Talisman. Also, the Talisman of the title is described as the nexus of all possible worlds which is clearly a reference to The Dark Tower. The connections with The Dark Tower are more numerous in Black House which I will be reading next.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.