Killers of the Flower Moon by @DavidGrann

In the 1920s, the richest people per capita in the world were members of the Osage Indian nation in Oklahoma. After oil was discovered beneath their land, they rode in chauffeured automobiles, built mansions and sent their children to study in Europe.

Then, one by one, the Osage began to be killed off. As the death toll climbed, the FBI took up the case. But the bureau badly bungled the investigation. In desperation, its young director, J. Edgar Hoover, turned to a former Texas Ranger named Tom White to unravel the mystery. Together with the Osage he and his undercover team began to expose one of the most chilling conspiracies in American history.

***

In April, millions of tiny flowers spread over the blackjack hills and vast prairies in the Osage territory of Oklahoma. (1 THE VANISHING)

***

(Simon & Schuster UK, 20 April 2017, e-book, 368pages, borrowed from Glasgow Libraries via Overdrive, Popsugar Reading Challenge, A Nonfiction Book About Indigenous People)

***

FIND OUT MORE

***

I haven’t seen Killers of the Flower Moon but I really want to, especially after reading this book. I’ve wanted to see the movie since it was released and this book made me want to watch it even more. I can’t quite believe the things I read between the covers of this book actually happened. I’m not just talking about the murders and the bundled investigation but the way the Osage were treated in general, forced to have a guardian they had to get permission from to spend their money because they were considered too dumb to understand finances. How typical of American white supremacy. This book made me feel sick at times. That’s a good thing though because I thought this story was incredible and shocking. I loved this book and would recommend

5/5

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.