Dreaming Frankenstein & Collected Poems 1967-1984 by Liz Lochhead

This collection contains the all of Liz Lochhead’s poems published between 1967 and 1984. The collection includes poems from four collections: Dreaming Frankenstein, The Grimm Sister, Islands and Memo for spring. The poems explore the themes of attraction, pain, acceptance, loss, triumphs and deceptions.

***

I’ve led you by my garrulous banks, babbling

on and on till – drunk on air –

and sure it’s only water talking –

you come at last to my silence.

What the Pool Said, on Midsummer’s Day

***

(@BirlinnBooks, 1 January 2003, e-book, 176 pages, borrowed from @GlasgowLib via @OverDriveInc)

***

FIND OUT MORE

***

I’m a huge fan of the poet. This year I plan to do a lot of re-reading, books as own as well as library books etc that I’ve loved over the years. I read Dreaming Frankenstein & Collected Poems 1967-1984 over fifteen years ago and I adored it. So I had to read it again. I love every poem in this collection as much as I did all those years ago, maybe more so. I especially love the poms in the Dreaming Frankenstein section as well as The Storyteller Poems, Outer and On Midsummer Common. I’d recommend this collection.

5/5

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.