My Alexandria by Mark Doty

My Alexandria comprises a series of eloquent meditations on the essential themes: mortality and life, beauty and loss. The collection is haunted by the spectre of AIDS, but is transfigured by Mark Doty’s ranging imagination, effortless stylistic skill and huge emotional power.

***

The intact façade’s now almost black

in the rain; all day they’ve torn at the back

of the building, ‘the oldest concrete structure

in New England’ the newspaper said.

DEMOLITION

***

(@vintagebooks, 30 November 2011, ebook, 88 pages, borrowed from @natpoetrylib via @OverDriveLibs)

***

GET A COPY

***

The themes covered in this collection are similar to Atlantis. There’s something I really like about the poet’s voice. I enjoyed every poem in this collection, some quite a bit more than others. What impressed me about these poems is how emotional I felt reading them and the range of ideas and emotions expressed. This is an impressive work.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.