Bonfire by Krysten Ritter

Should you ever go back? It has been ten years since Abby Williams left home and scrubbed away all visible evidence of her small-town roots. Now working as an environmental lawyer in Chicago, she has a thriving career, a modern apartment, and her pick of meaningless one-night stands. But when a new case takes her…

The Sacrifice Box by Martin Stewart

Sep, Arkle, Mack, Lamb and Hadley: five friends thrown together one hot, sultry summer. When they discover an ancient stone box hidden in the forest, they decide to each make a sacrifice: something special to them, committed to the box for ever. And they make a pact: they will never return to the box at…

My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante

A modern masterpiece from one of Italy’s most acclaimed authors, “My Brilliant Friend” is a rich, intense, and generous-hearted story about two friends, Elena and Lila. Ferrante’s inimitable style lends itself perfectly to a meticulous portrait of these two women that is also the story of a nation and a touching meditation on the nature…

A River in Darkness: One Man’s Escape from North Korea by Masaji Ishikawa

The harrowing true story of one man’s life in—and subsequent escape from—North Korea, one of the world’s most brutal totalitarian regimes. Half-Korean, half-Japanese, Masaji Ishikawa has spent his whole life feeling like a man without a country. This feeling only deepened when his family moved from Japan to North Korea when Ishikawa was just thirteen…

Crackanory Seasons 1-4

Imagine if Jackanory was set free from its childish shackles. What twisted, funny tales would it unleash upon the world? Each episode of Crackanory contains two 15-minute tales and is a master class in storytelling, combining some of the UK’s best comedy writers and performers. Full author list: Nico Tatarowicz, Toby Davies, Kevin Eldon, Ali…

The Hollowing (Mythago Wood #4) by Robert Holdstock

Alex Bradley, a highly imaginative child, brain-damaged after a bizarre attack, vanishes one day from his home. Months later a body is found on the edge of Ryhope Wood. The wood shields a heart of primeval forest wherein live phantoms and strange creatures – Mythago’s – those shades generated over time by our dreams and…

The Sign Of The Beast by Joyce Carol Oates

The National Book Award–winning and New York Times bestselling master of psychological suspense returns with the story of a young boy’s sexual awareness disturbed by cruelty, obsession, and rage. Eleven-year-old Howard was born with a birthmark on his cheek. His Sunday school teacher mockingly calls it the “sign of the beast.” Too hateful to be…

The Lucky Ones by Mark Edwards

It was the happiest day of her life. Little did she know it was also the last. When a woman’s body is found in the grounds of a ruined priory, Detective Imogen Evans realises she is dealing with a serial killer—a killer whose victims appear to die in a state of bliss, eyes open, smiles…

A Map Of The Dark by Karen Ellis ARC

A girl, missing A woman, searching A killer, planning… A thrilling new FBI series for fans of Tess Gerritsen and Karin Slaughter. FBI Agent Elsa Myers finds missing people. She knows how it feels to be lost… Though her father lies dying in a hospital north of New York City, Elsa cannot refuse a call…

Immortal Creators by Jill Bowers ARC

Sixteen-year-old author Scott Beck never wanted to be an Immortal Writer—not after his father was killed on a mission attempting to dispatch his own villain. Scott blames Shakespeare and the Writers for his father’s untimely demise, but no amount of hatred will prevent the oncoming alien attack, which has come over to reality straight from…

November Round-Up On The Book Lover’s Boudoir

I read 37 books in November. These are in reading order:                                      November was a good month. I had 2O five star reads. The choice was hard but my pick of the month was: This audio drama was so original and engaging it rose to the top of the pile.

The X Files: Stolen Lives by Joe Harris

The division has been reopened, but nothing is as it seems in this electrifying follow-up to The X-Files: Cold Cases, starring David Duchovny, Gillian Anderson, and a full cast. “In a world filled with shades of grey, we have to carefully choose which cloak we wear….” Out of the ashes of the Syndicate, a new,…