The Lie

This was no accident… Haunting, compelling, this psychological thriller will have you hooked. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Daughter. Best friends are there for each other through thick and thin. You trust them with your life. At least that’s what Emma, Daisy, Leanne and Al think. But all that changes when they embark…

High Crime Area: Tales of Darkness and Dread

Joyce Carol Oates is an unparalleled investigator of human flaws. In these eight stories, she deftly tests the bonds between damaged individuals—a brother and sister, a teacher and student, two strangers on a subway—in the fearless prose for which she’s become so celebrated. In the title story “High Crime Area,” a white, aspiring professor is…

Giving Up the Ghost: A Memoir

From the double Man Booker Prize-winning author of ‘Wolf Hall’, a wry, shocking and beautiful memoir of childhood, ghosts, hauntings, illness and family. ‘Giving up the Ghost’ is award-winning novelist Hilary Mantel’s uniquely unusual five-part autobiography. Opening in 1995 with ‘A Second Home’, Mantel describes the death of her stepfather which leaves her deeply troubled…

The Haunting of Blackwood House

Could you survive a week in a haunted house? Mara is the daughter of spiritualists. Her childhood was filled with séances, scam mediums and talk of ghostly presences. When Mara finally left her family’s home, she vowed she would never allow superstition or false religion into her life again. Now she’s ready to start over…

Anansi Boys

Fat Charlie Nancy is not actually fat. He was fat once but he is definitely not fat now. No, right now Fat Charlie Nancy is angry, confused and more than a little scared – right now his life is spinning out of control, and it is all his dad’s fault. If his rotter of an…

Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices #1)

Magic is dangerous—but love is more dangerous still. When sixteen-year-old Tessa Gray crosses the ocean to find her brother, her destination is England, the time is the reign of Queen Victoria, and something terrifying is waiting for her in London’s Downworld, where vampires, warlocks and other supernatural folk stalk the gaslit streets. Only the Shadowhunters,…

July Round-Up On The Book Lover’s Boudoir

I read 36 books in July. A record, even for me. Click on the image to be directed to the review. These are in reading order:                                     My book of the month:

Wild Saturday and Other Stories

To their uncomprehending parents they were just ‘crazy kids’ shoplifting, staying out all night, hanging around with weird friends. But for Connie, Alex, Tessa and the others nothing was more urgent than finding out what life held in store uniquely for them. Impatient of repressive parents, bored by the rituals of their suburban homes, they…

Incarnation

Poems about our children and the stories that we tell them. Whether looking at the discourse around pregnancy, describing the pain of childbirth, or thinking about surveillance at soft play, they blur the personal and political. There are also poems about innocence and responsibility which ask what it means to bring new human beings into…

We Come Apart REVIEW COPY

From two acclaimed authors comes an emotional story told in verse about friendship, love, and overcoming unbeatable odds. Authors Brian Conaghan and Sarah Crossan have joined forces to tell the story of Nicu and Jess, two troubled teens whose paths cross in the unlikeliest of places. Nicu has emigrated from Romania and is struggling to…

31 Days of Wonder ARC

‘And in that instant, he knows in his heart that today is a momentous day; come what may, he and Alice will meet again, and life will never be the same.’ Alice is stuck in an internship she loathes and a body she is forever trying to change. Ben, also in his early twenties, is…

The Spice Box Letters

Katerina inherits a scented, wooden spice box after her grandmother Mariam dies. It contains letters and a diary, written in Armenian. As she pieces together her family story, Katerina learns that Mariam’s childhood was shattered by the Armenian tragedy of 1915. Mariam was exiled from her home in Turkey and separated from her beloved brother,…