Posted in 2021, ARC, Blog Tour, Ella Carey, historical fiction, NetGalley, Novel, Top Books

#TheLostGirlofBerlin by @Ella_Carey

The truck stopped for a moment in the freezing, bombed-out street and Kate caught sight of a little girl in a ragged dress on the steps of a once-beautiful mansion. The child’s eyes were startling blue, a pair of endless pools, drawing Kate towards her…

1946, Berlin. War correspondent Kate Mancini is in Germany, reporting on the aftermath of the devastating war. For her readers back home in New York, she tells the stories of innocent families, trying to rebuild the wreckage of their lives now the soldiers have left at last. But in the Russian-held sector of Berlin on an icy winter’s day, Kate breaks all the rules, rescuing Mia Stein, a silent orphan who she fears will otherwise perish.

Together with her fellow journalist, handsome Rick Shearer, Kate manages to find a safe house for Mia before she returns to America and vows to keep in touch. Back home, the reality of post-war life for women is stark. Whilst Rick walks into his dream job, no newspaper will hire a woman. The editors laugh her out of their offices, telling her to get married and raise a family. Rick does all he can to support her, as she takes her first steps towards the new medium of television news, and their friendship deepens into something more.

Then tragedy strikes: Rick is falsely named as a communist sympathizer. He is arrested, blacklisted and faces prison.

Kate knows she must do all she can to free the man she loves. But that means returning to Germany, to seek out the little orphan girl who is her only chance at salvation. Kate and Rick saved Mia—will she help them both now? And even if Kate succeeds, freedom might never be hers when she returns home…From Amazon Charts bestseller Ella Carey comes an utterly heart-breaking historical novel, inspired by true events, about the courage, love and friendships that sustain us in the darkest of days. Fans of Fiona Davis, All the Light We Cannot See and My Name is Eva will be totally captivated.

***

The jeep’s brakes shrieked through the ashen city.

1, KATE – BERLIN, MARCH 1946

***

(@Bookouture, 12 July 2021, 294 pages, ebook, #ARC from the publisher via #NetGalley and voluntarily reviewed, #BlogTour 12 July 2021, #booksontour)

***

GET A COPY

***

I’m a huge fan of the author. I’ve loved all of her books so far and loved the first book in this trilogy so couldn’t wait to read this. I thought the Daughters of New York Trilogy would feature the same characters so was a bit thrown to realise this book isn’t really linked to the first book, the only link is that both women are from New York. Still, this didn’t affect my enjoyment of the book. Carey does it again, offering a fantastically written historical novel with fantastic characters that really comes to life and connected with me on every level. I loved the relationship between Kate and Rick and how this deepens from friendship into something more especially when Rick faces prison after false accusations of being a communist sympathiser. I couldn’t stop reading because this book got a hold of me and refused to let go. This is a corker.

Author:

I live in Glasgow in the UK with my partner. I work in the Financial Services. I like reading especially Joyce Carol Oates and Stephen King. I write fiction and poetry. I enjoy watching TV (Grimm, Torchwood, Doctor Who, Lip Service, The L Word etc). I like to play video games and am a fan of survival horror especially the Silent Hill franchise. I like to watch movies especially horror and anything where someone dies.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.