#BringHimHome by @nicoletrope

Where is he? Where’s my beloved child with his father’s blue eyes and a halo of golden curls? My little boy is out there on his own. Please keep him safe, I silently beg, please, please just keep him safe.

‘Your son is missing,’ they say, and life as I know it is over. ‘Where would he go?’ the police ask. ‘Where would he be?’ my daughter begs.

My heart races as images flash in my mind. The cabin we rent every autumn, surrounded by fiery red maple trees. Voices raised. Tears falling. A marriage falling apart. And worst of all my husband telling our child, Theo, to run.

The rest is a blank in my memory. If I close my eyes I can almost see it. A betrayal that has left me alone, in tatters, grieving for what we had.

It wasn’t meant to be like that. It should have been precious time as a family, with boardgames, walks in the mountain and pancakes for breakfast.

Instead my little one is has vanished. ‘They are looking for him,’ the nurse told me, ‘but the storm is slowing down the search.’

The police think Theo has the answers, that he knows what tore our family apart. But I have no idea where he is. No clue if he is safe. And that’s the most terrifying thing of all…

A completely gripping, beautifully written and totally heart-breaking page-turner, which examines what happens behind closed doors, and the secrets that can shatter a family. Fans of Jodi Picoult, Diane Chamberlain and Liane Moriarty will be totally addicted to this breath-taking novel.

***

It was not Amber’s intention to get lost.

1, SATURDAY AFTERNOON

***

(@Bookouture, 30 March 2021, 250 pages, ebook, #ARC from the publisher via #NetGalley and voluntarily reviewed, #BlogTour 31 March)

***

GET A COPY

***

I got hooked on this book within the first few pages and I couldn’t stop reading until I’d finished it. I enjoyed the fact the chapters bounce between different narrators such as Theo, his mother and his sister. Theo has autism and the author does a great and sensitive job of bringing him and his personality to life. I enjoyed the chapters from his point of view as he tries to work out what he needs to do, understand what he saw in the cabin at the start of the book and whether he can trust people or not.  This is definitely a page-turner. I loved it. The book open with a shocking, violent event and you don’t discover the truth about what happened until the end of the book.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.