#DeadlyRevenge by @LeighRussell

The new novel in the million-copy selling Detective Geraldine Steel series

‘Brilliant and chilling, Leigh Russell delivers a cracker of a read!’ – Martina Cole

When a hysterical mother reports her baby’s sudden disappearance, suspicion immediately falls on the absent husband. But Detective Geraldine Steel’s gut instinct tells her this case is not as simple as her colleagues think…

Complications in the mother’s life begin to surface, including her relationship with her controlling father, a controversial political figure. As the police investigate, their urgent attempt to find the missing infant grows ever more perplexing.

Steel is forced to suspect everyone associated with the family and when a body is discovered, matters take a deadly turn.

For fans of Martina Cole, Mel Sherratt and LJ Ross

‘Unmissable’ – Lee Child

‘Leigh Russell is a brilliant talent in the thriller field’ – Jeffery Deaver

Look out for more DI Geraldine Steel investigations in Cut ShortRoad ClosedDead EndDeath BedStop DeadFatal ActKiller PlanMurder RingDeadly AlibiClass MurderDeath RopeRogue Killer and Deathly Affair plus the special Christmas short story, Killer Christmas

Don’t miss the DI Ian Peterson series: Cold SacrificeRace to Death and Blood Axe

***

[‘A lot of men would have given up on you a long time ago, the way you carry on’ he told her]

***

(@noexitpress, 23 July 2020, 217 pages, ebook, #ARC from the publisher and voluntarily reviewed, #BlogTour 20 July via @RandomTTours)

***

GET A COPY

***

I’d never heard of the author before so wasn’t sure what to expect with Deadly Revenge. I read a lot of thrillers so expected this to be on par with other similar books I’ve read. This is a well-written and engaging thriller. It took a few chapters to get into and at first, the characters seemed a bit of a cliché but I settled into a rhythm and started to enjoy myself. I found myself wondering what the truth was because there are so many red herrings and possible explanations. It took a while to warm to Geraldine because at times she irritated me by acting like a lovesick teenager around Ian. But I soon warmed to her. This is well written, fast paced and very enjoyable. I will read the rest of the series at some point.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.