The Psychology of Time Travel by @KateMascarenhas

A time travel murder mystery from a brilliantly original new voice. Perfect for readers of Naomi Alderman’s The Power and Emily St John Mandel’s Station Eleven.

1967
Four female scientists invent a time travel machine. They are on the cusp of fame: the pioneers who opened the world to new possibilities. But then one of them suffers a breakdown and puts the whole project in peril…

2017
Ruby knows her beloved Granny Bee was a pioneer, but they never talk about the past. Though time travel is now big business, Bee has never been part of it. Then they receive a message from the future – a newspaper clipping reporting the mysterious death of an elderly lady…

2018
When Odette discovered the body she went into shock. Blood everywhere, bullet wounds, that strong reek of sulphur. But when the inquest fails to find any answers, she is frustrated. Who is this dead woman that haunts her dreams? And why is everyone determined to cover up her murder? 

***

[The laboratory, in Cumbria, was home to four young scientists]

***

(@HoZ_Books, 9 August 2018, 372 pages, ebook, borrowed from @AmazonKindle #PrimeReading)

***

GET A COPY

***

I love books featuring time travel, time shifts and that kind of thing. I had high hopes for this book. It works really well is some respects but falls short in others. I love all the moving and back and forth and between different periods of time. This made the book very entertaining and I found myself wondering what was going to crop up next. I love the murder mystery aspect. The book is let down by the ‘science’ aspect of the time travel in the book. The travellers are encouraged to interact with their past and future selves which goes against everything I’ve read in other time travel books. I’m open to different things but the author didn’t quite make all the ins and outs of time travel in this book work for me. The world building fell a little short. There are a lot of descriptions of the travellers living in different eras and time lines which got in the way of character development. The book lacked emotional depth because of this. I didn’t get to know any of the characters really well so couldn’t get invested in them. The book tackles some big issues such as gender wars, racism and psychological problems without any real depth. So for me, this missed the mark a little but it was a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.