The Lie

dc049a522d84b84f_PS16_JP_Living_2017ReadingChallenge_List_R2This was no accident…

Haunting, compelling, this psychological thriller will have you hooked. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Daughter.

Best friends are there for each other through thick and thin. You trust them with your life. At least that’s what Emma, Daisy, Leanne and Al think. But all that changes when they embark on a trip of a lifetime together. When they return home, only two of them are left alive and the group has been torn apart by lies and deception.

Many years later, when the dust has settled and life has moved on, one girl receives a threatening letter. Someone knows the truth about what happened on that holiday and will stop at nothing to expose it …

***

[I know he’s trouble before he even sets foot in the building.]

***

(Avon, 23 April 2015, owned)

***

BUY

***

I read this for 2017 Popsugar Reading Challenge. The category is ‘a book set in a hotel’.

***

I enjoyed The Lie very much but it doesn’t quite live up to expectations. I definitely plan to read more of this author.

This book is packed with twists and turns. I love when this happens in books and it works really well in The Lie. A lot of the time I thought I knew what was going on, only for the author to pull me in a different direction entirely.

I liked the characters, they are complex and fascinating. Jane/Emma is a great protagonist and I liked being inside her head. I felt great sympathy for her; she just wants to move on with her live in peace after what happened during the trip to Nepal. My heart went out to her when the past starts to threaten the present. The other characters are also well written.

I loved the way the author explored the toxicity of friendship between women in The Lie. Friendship between women can be a great thing but it can also be sinister and toxic, an aspect explored in this novel.

I liked the way the novel is structured, alternating between chapters set in the present with Jane’s lift threatened by her secrets and the past, gradually revealing what happened at the retreat in Nepal. I enjoyed the chapters set in Nepal the best, some seriously sinister stuff goes down.

My only niggle about the book is that the author chooses a rather obvious path when it’s revealed who is threatening Jane in the present. Things become more and more sinister; however, the perpetrator of these events is the most obvious person. I would have liked something a little more original.

4 STAR RATING

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s