NETThis Impossible Light by Lily Myers
Published by Philomel Books
Ebook
Expected publication 6 June 2017
346 pages
NetGalley

Connect with the author

Buy the book: UK (affiliate’s link)

Buy the book: USA

I was given an ARC by the publisher via NetGalley and voluntarily reviewed it.

WHAT’S IT’S ABOUT

From the YouTube slam poetry star of “Shrinking Women” (more than 5 million views!) comes a novel in verse about body image, eating disorders, self-worth, mothers and daughters, and the psychological scars we inherit from our parents.

Sixteen-year-old Ivy’s world is in flux. Her dad has moved out, her mother is withdrawn, her brother is off at college, and her best friend, Anna, has grown distant. Worst of all, Ivy’s body won’t stop expanding. She’s getting taller and curvier, with no end in sight. Even her beloved math class offers no clear solution to the imbalanced equation that has become Ivy s life.

Everything feels off-kilter until a skipped meal leads to a boost in confidence and reminds Ivy that her life is her own. If Ivy can just limit what she eats the way her mother seems to she can stop herself from growing, focus on the upcoming math competition, and reclaim control of her life. But when her disordered eating leads to missed opportunities and a devastating health scare, Ivy realizes that she must weigh her mother’s issues against her own, and discover what it means to be a part of and apart from her family.  

This Impossible Light explores the powerful reality that identity and self-worth must be taught before they are learned. Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Ellen Hopkins.”

EXTRACT

Extract From My Mother

is made of the bones of birds
I look at her and hear the sound of twigs snapping
Next to her I am giant
clumsy
obtuse.

WHAT I THOUGHT 

I really enjoyed this novel in verse. I found Ivy’s voice and her story compelling. I enjoyed the way she desperately tries to seize control of one aspect of her life because everything else has fallen apart. Ivy is having a bad time following her parent’s divorce. Her mother is depressed and shutting herself away. Ivy’s world is suddenly unstable and she latches onto the one thing she can control – her eating. I liked the way the story progresses with Ivy’s eating disorder gradually having more and more serious repercussions. This Impossible Light is incredibly sad and moving at times. My only criticism is that the verse that makes up this novel felt a bit too simple at times and could have been deeper. Still, I was drawn in from page one and enjoyed every word. I’d recommend This Impossible Light.

RATING

4 STAR RATING

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s