Thirteen Reasons Why

NETThirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher
Published by Penguin
Ebook
Published 16 September 2009
288 pages
NetGalley

Connect with the author

Buy the book: UK (affiliate’s link)

Buy the book: USA

I was given a review copy by the publisher via NetGalley and voluntarily reviewed it.

WHAT’S IT’S ABOUT

You can’t stop the future.

You can’t rewind the past.

The only way to learn the secret is to press play.

Clay Jensen returns home to find a strange package with his name on it. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker – his classmate and first love – who committed suicide two weeks earlier.

Hannah’s voice explains there are thirteen reasons why she killed herself. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out why.

All through the night, Clay keeps listening – and what he discovers changes his life… forever.

OPENING 

‘Sir’ she repeats. ‘How soon do you want it to get there?’

WHAT I THOUGHT 

I’ve wanted to read this book for a long time, years, in fact. I never got round to it. I watched the entire Netflix series in one day, which wrecked me and made me cry for two days. So when I saw this pop up on NetGalley I had to request it. Thirteen Reasons Why is one of the saddest, moving and most riveting YA books I’ve ever read. I loved it even thought I feel weird and uncomfortable about loving something so sad. As I’ve seen the show I kind of knew what to expect with this one, but as always, the book was much better. Netflix did a good job adapting it. I loved the way the book was structured, one chapter for each side of a tape, with Hannah’s words on the tape overlapping with Clay’s memories and experiences while listening to the tapes. This works really well. I was heart-broken for Hannah. I felt everyone on the tapes deserted to be there for being such horrible people. I also felt sorry for the people who hurt Hannah so much she took her own life. They weren’t monsters, well not everyone, they were people, who were thoughtless and stupid the way people can be, who had no idea what the consequences of their actions would be. Bulling is something very real and it happens to kids every day. I was bullied. Suicide is also something that happens far too often. Thirteen Reasons Why doesn’t have a good ending but it deals with something painfully real. This book will stay with me for a long time. You must read it.

RATING

5 STAR RATING

Leave a Reply

