Foraging

ForagingForaging by Joy Howard
Published by Inpress Books
Ebook
Expected publication 23 February 2017
48 pages
Netgalley

Connect with the poet

Buy the book: UK (affiliate’s link)

Buy the book: USA

NET

I was given an ARC of this book by the publisher via NetGalley and voluntarily reviewed it.

WHAT’S IT’S ABOUT

Joy Howard has something to say about the environment, and grief, and time, and memory. Her combination of tender but acute observation and mordant wit is reminiscent of U.A. Fanthorpe.

EXTRACT

From Constellation

Draco appears over the horizon, flashing her diamonds
the usual display

WHAT I THOUGHT 

This is my first time reading the poet. I thought Foraging was okay. Some poems worked and worked really well and others just didn’t. I had a very similar experience when I read Grave of Light by Alice Notley which I finished yesterday. There is some great imagery, language and rich detail in some of the poems and others fall a little flat. There are a couple of poems about being a poet and writing poetry and these just left me cold. It’s not good or smart or original or anything to write poems about writing poems. I didn’t dislike this collection. I thought it was just okay, I’ve read much worse but a lot better.

RATING

3 STAR RATING

Leave a Reply

