I Love My Love

I Love My LoveI Love My Love by Reyna Mays
Published by Andrews McMeel Publishing
Ebook
Expected publication 14 February 2017
100 pages
NetGalley

Connect with the poet

Buy the book: UK

Buy the book: USA

NET

I was given an ARC of this by the publisher via NetGalley and voluntarily reviewed it.

WHAT’S IT’S ABOUT

In short, poignant verses, Reyna Mays’ poems explore pain, emotional reckoning, and the power of self-love.

The debut collection from 22-year-old poet Reyna Mays, I Love My Love tells the story of Reyna’s childhood, her parent’s toxic relationship, and how, against all odds, she learned to love herself.”

EXTRACT

for my mother’s pain,
this is proof that sunshine comes after rain.

WHAT I THOUGHT 

This is my first time reading this poet.

I really enjoyed I Love My Love. I’m a huge love freak so the subject matter of this collection was right up my street. I loved how personal the poems were, to the extent some were uncomfortable, as if by reading the collection I was being given a sneak peak of the poet’s inner world; their thoughts and feelings, hopes and fears. The poems in I Love My Love deal with a universal theme – love – but are much more complex than a casual glance would suggest. Many of the poems were like private, intimate little loves notes from the poets to family members and lovers. The images used throughout I Love My Love are beautiful and powerful. I’d highly recommend this collection.

RATING

4 STAR RATING

Leave a Reply

