New Books 29 July 2016

So I have a slew of new books this week that I’m pretty excited about.

The evil mastermind that is Amazon have a kindle summer sale on with titles from 99p so I had to buy 1 – well actually 8.

The White Queen (Cousins War Series Book 1) by [Gregory, Philippa]The White Queen by Phillipa Gregory

The Cousins War series has been on my radar for a while.

I ocassionally read historical fiction and I just love the sound of this.

 

Still Alice by [Genova, Lisa]Still Alice by Lisa Genova

This one has also been on my radar for a while. My nan had alxheimer’s disease so I can relate to come extent.

I saw the movie on Netflix recently and it destroyed me. Even though I know what happens the book will be much better.

The Light of the Fireflies by [Pen, Paul]The Light of the Firelies by Paul Pen

This was chosen at random because I liked the cover and the blurb intrigued me.

The Disappeared by [Ohlsson, Kristina]The Disappeared by Kristina Ohlsson

This was also chosen at random based on the blurb an cover.

I’m a big fan of Swedish crime fiction.

 

The Secret Life of Bees by [Kidd, Sue Monk]The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd

I meant to buy The Invention of Wings which has been on my radar for a while. I bought this in error. I was about to return it and get a refund but I remembered how much I loved the movie so decided to give the book a shot.

 

Dissolution (The Shardlake Series Book 1) by [Sansom, C. J.]Dissolution by C.J Sansom

I don’t read a lot of historical fiction but now and again something catches my eye.

I loved the author’s novel, Dominion which was an alternative history novel which saw Britain surrendering to the Nazi’s which led to Britain becoming Nazi occupied and Hitler’s biggest ally in the Second World War.

The Girl With A Clock For A Heart by [Swanson, Peter]The Girl With A Clock For A Heart by Peter Swanson

This was also chosen at random.

I like the title and the premise intrigued me.

 

Left Neglected by [Genova, Lisa]Left Neglected by Lisa Genova

I chose this because the blurb intrigued me.

 

 

I also returned my books to the library and borrowed some more. I only borrowed three this time. I struggled with the five I borrowed last time and had to renew them.

The Little Red Chairs by Edna O’Brien

I chose this at random. I liked the title and the blurb.

I only have a two week loan so I’m reading this first.

 

 

The Age of MagicThe Age of Magic by Ben Okri

This writer has been on my radar for a while. I’ve heard good things about him.

I liked the title and the blurb intrigued me.

 

The Quality of SilenceThe Quality of Silence by Rosamund Lipton

I really enjoyed the author’s first two novels so I wanted to read this.

The blurb sounds really good.

Leave a Reply

