Library Haul 21 June 2016

 I went to the Mitchell Library after work tonight and borrowed five books.

I haven’t been to the library in about a year. I spent about ten minutes running around like an excited little puppy dog, peeing everywhere and sniffing random books.

After the nice library staff calmed me down by giving me a chocolate biscuit and patting my head I borrowed five books.

These are in the order I will read them:

Us

Us by David Nicholls

I’ve never read this author but his books all sound deep, interesting and engrossing. I bought a copy of One Day from a charity shop a few weeks ago and just the blurb on the cover makes me want to cry. I love the sound of Us and like the simple, bold cover.

The Glorious Heresies

The Glorious Heresies by Lisa McInerney

I ‘ve wanted to read this book since my inbox started to get bombarded with emails about the Bailey’s prize. I love the idea of the book. It sounds like the crazy kind of shit I love. I really don’t like the orange cover though.

The Daylight Gate

The Daylight Gate by Jeanette Winterson

I’m not a huge fan of this author. I’ve read about three books and liked one. The cover intrigued me and I didn’t notice the author. I liked the blurb. I almost put it back when I saw the author but I was so intrigued I decided to give it a shot.

South of the Border, West of the Sun

South Of The Border, West Of The Sun by Haruki Murakami

I read his book After Dark for Popsugar this year and loved it. It’s sort of mad but great. I have since vowed to devour all of his novels.

Tastes Like Fear (DI Marnie Rome #3)

Tastes Like Fear by Sarah Hilary

Hilary’s debut novel, Someone Else’s Skin rocked my world last year when I read it for Popsugar. I bought her second book, No Other Darkness ages ago for my  Kindle but haven’t read it yet. When I saw this in the library I had to have it. You don’t need to read the books in order.

Leave a Reply

