Fiction Review: The Hidden Oracle (The Trials of Apollo #1) by Rick Riordan

apolloo

AUTHOR: The Hidden Oracle (The Trials of Apollo #1) by Rick Riordan
PUBLISHER: Puffin
EDITION: Kindle
RELEASE DATE: 3 May 2016
PAGES: 375

AUTHOR WEBSITE

AMAZON.UK

AMAZON.COM

NET

I got this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

WHAT’S IT’S ABOUT

How do you punish an immortal?

By making him human.

After angering his father Zeus, the god Apollo is cast down from Olympus. Weak and disorientated, he lands in New York City as a regular teenage boy. Now, without his godly powers, the four-thousand-year-old deity must learn to survive in the modern world until he can somehow find a way to regain Zeus’s favour.

But Apollo has many enemies – gods, monsters and mortals who would love to see the former Olympian permanently destroyed. Apollo needs help, and he can think of only one place to go . . . an enclave of modern demigods known as Camp Half-Blood.

OPENING

My name is Apollo. I used to be a God.

WHAT I THOUGHT

I’ve never read any of the author’s book before though I don’t know why. I really like the Percy Jackson movies. I love Greek mythology and am fond of fiction that parodies it. The Hidden Oracle was fantastic. I loved this. I look forward to reading more of Apollo’s trials and now must check out other books by the author. I loved Apollo in the book and his little asides about what cool stuff he could do when he was a god and how awful it is being a human. I loved his sarcasm. He came across as a petulant child at times but one you sorts of loved and wanted to throttle / hug at the same time. I laugh a lot when reading this book even terrible things are happening. I loved the details scattered throughout the novel from Greek mythology. The author has clearly done his homework. Apollo starts to become a nicer when he starts to accept that he’s a human and show compassion. I did like the changes but sort of missed his narcissism at times. The Hidden Oracle includes a same-sex couple and Apollo is bisexual. I was impressed by the way this was handled in the book as just something natural and normal. This is a great thing in a world where people can still be killed for being gay. I can’t remember the last time I found a book so funny. I loved the references to God’s in the 21st century (for example, Zeus is too busy recording Apollo’s humiliation to share on Snap Chat or hear his plea. The Hidden Oracle reminds me of a book I read and loved years ago, God Behaving Badly by Marie Phillips. I look forward to reading Apollo’s further trials.  

RATING

5 STAR RATING

Leave a Reply

