Fiction Review: After She Fell by Mary-Jane Riley

fell

TITLE & AUTHOR: After She Fell by Mary-Jane Riley
PUBLISHER: Killer Reads
EDITION: Kindle
RELEASE DATE: 28 April 2016
PAGES: 305

AUTHOR’S TWITTER PAGE

AMAZON.UK

AMAZON.COM

NET

I got this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

WHAT’S IT’S ABOUT

A darkly compelling psychological thriller, full of twists and turns, perfect for fans of AFTER ANNA and THE GOOD GIRL.

There are so many ways to fall…

Catriona needs help. Her seventeen-year-old daughter Elena was found dead at the bottom of a cliff near her boarding school. The death has been ruled a suicide, but Catriona isn’t convinced.

When her old friend, journalist Alex Devlin, arrives in Hallow’s Edge to investigate, she quickly finds that life at private boarding school The Drift isn’t as idyllic as the bucolic setting might suggest.

Amidst a culture of drug-taking, bullying and tension between school and village, no one is quite who they seem to be, and there are several people who might have wanted Elena to fall…

OPENING

Hunched against the wind that knifed through him, and trying to avoid the spray stinging his weathered cheeks even more, he didn’t see the body at first.

WHAT I THOUGHT

I really enjoyed After She Fell. This novel opened with a bang and instantly caught my attention, gave me a lots of questions about what was going on and made me want to read on. Just the kind of book I adore. I thought Catriona was a great character – I instantly sympathised with her and her determination to prove her daughter didn’t commit suicide. I was on her side from the get-go. I liked being shown events from both Elena’s perspective and the perspective of Alex, Catriona’s old friend who wants to help her find out the truth. Alex is also a great character. After She Fell is packed with the things I love about thrillers; great characters, great plot and enough suspense and tension to keep the old cogs in my brain turning. When Alex investigates Elena’s death she uncovers some very murky behaviour at her beloved private school. I found the ending a bit predictable but enjoyed the book so much until this point it didn’t really bother me. I would not describe the twist as shocking but still very well-written. As a side note, I absolutely hate novels who declare with a twist you won’t see coming or something similar in the title. This weakens the impact of anything remotely resembling a twist or a shocking turn of events and makes me think the writer/publisher doesn’t have confidence in the work so feel the need to hit readers over the head with a rubber mallet. Overall, After She Fell was decent thriller.

RATING

4 STAR RATING

2 thoughts on “Fiction Review: After She Fell by Mary-Jane Riley

  1. I already have this one on my radar so your review has just confirmed that this is a book I do want to read. I’m reassured by your comment on the twist, as fun as they are, it is no good if you are looking out for them! This definitely sounds like a book that has more going for it than a ‘shocking twist!’

Leave a Reply

