Fiction Review: Stalker by Lars Kepler

27319800

TITLE & AUTHOR: Stalker by Lars Kepler
PUBLISHER: HarperCollins
EDITION: Kindle
RELEASE DATE: 5 May 2016
PAGES: 528 pages

AUTHOR WEBSITE

AMAZON.UK

AMAZON.COM

NET

I got a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

WHAT’S IT’S ABOUT

The much-anticipated fifth thriller in Lars Kepler’s bestselling series featuring Joona Linna. Perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo.

A video-clip is sent to the National Criminal Investigation Department. Someone has secretly filmed a woman through her window from the garden. The next day she is found dead after a frenzied knife-attack.

The police receive a second film of another unknown woman. There is no way of identifying her before time runs out.

When her husband finds her he is so traumatised that he cleans the whole house and puts her to bed. He may have seen a vital clue, but is in such an extreme state of shock that the police are unable to question him.

Psychiatrist Erik Maria Bark is called in to hypnotise him – but what the man tells him under hypnosis leads Erik to start lying to the police.

If the lights are on, a stalker can see you from outside. But if the lights are off, you can’t see a stalker who is already inside the house.

OPENING 

It’s quarter to nine on Friday, 22 August. After the magical sunsets and light nights of high summer, darkness is encroaching with surprising speed. It’s already dark outside the glass atrium of the National Police Authority.

WHAT I THOUGHT 

Stalker is a hugely enjoyable, complex thriller. I had no idea what was going on half the time. This is a good thing – trust me. I’d start to get an idea in my head of who the villain was and what linked the murders only to be yanked in half a dozen different directions. The book gave me more questions than answers and kept me guessing until the last few chapters. I love this type of thriller. I really like the characters as well. They are all so believable I could easily imagine they were real. I wasn’t sure what to make of Erik though in light of everything that happens to his character but my heart went out to him in the end. I like the way the novel explores the idea of a stalker and what would motivate someone to behave in such a way. The motivations of the ‘stalker’ in this novel are not what I expected at all and made my flesh crawl – in a good way. You know you’re reading a damn good thriller when you feel the need to soak your skin a tub of bleach so you can scrape the muck off. I’ve never read the rest of the series but Stalker can stand in its own and I might check out the other books at some point to see if they are complex and enjoyable as Stalker. Stalker speaks to a fear many people share – the idea of someone obsessively watching you and documenting your life, skulking unseen in the shadows. Pepper spray anyone? Stalker gave me a major case of the creeps. I adored it.

RATING

5 STAR RATING

Leave a Reply

