ARC Review: The Fire Child by S.K. Tremayne

29528146

TITLE & AUTHOR: The Fire Child by S.K. Tremayne
PUBLISHER: HarperCollins
EDITION: Kindle
RELEASE DATE: Expected 16 June 2016
PAGES: 400 pages

AUTHOR PROFILE (GOOD READS)

AMAZON.UK

AMAZON.COM

NET

I got an ARC of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

WHAT’S IT’S ABOUT

When Rachel marries dark, handsome David, everything seems to fall into place. Swept from single life in London to the beautiful Carnhallow House in Cornwall, she gains wealth, love, and an affectionate stepson, Jamie.

But then Jamie’s behaviour changes and Rachel’s perfect life begins to unravel. He makes disturbing predictions, claiming to be haunted by the spectre of his late mother – David’s previous wife. Is this Jamie’s way of punishing Rachel, or is he far more traumatized than she thought?

As Rachel starts digging into the past, she begins to grow suspicious of her husband. Why is he so reluctant to discuss Jamie’s outbursts? And what exactly happened to cause his ex-wife’s untimely death, less than two years ago? As summer slips away and December looms, Rachel begins to fear there might be truth in Jamie’s words:

‘You will be dead by Christmas.’

OPENING 

The tunnels go under the sea.

WHAT I THOUGHT 

The Fire Child is a fantastic thriller with some spooky, unsettling moments running through the narrative. I absolutely loved the setting. Carnhallow, a spooky, remote house is the perfect place for sinister things to take place. I’d love to live in a place like Carnhallow and can imagine myself wandering about, exploring the mines. I thought Rachel was a great character; complicated, made of real flesh and blood. Most of the story is told from her point of view and this works really well. The novel has a great atmospheric setting and Carnhallow really comes to life. I liked the way things gradually get darker and darker as winter descends and Rachel’s perfect life starts to come apart. David and Rachel both have dark secrets and as these are revealed their world comes apart. The Fire Child is not a fast paced thriller. The place is very slowing burning and menacing which works really well. The author is very skilled at building suspense and tension and by the end I couldn’t turn my face away. The Fire Child is excellent. I now need to read the author’s debut, The Ice Twins.

RATING

5 STAR RATING

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I have The Ice Twins sitting on my TBR to be read – I’m still debating whether to add it to my 20 Books of Summer Challenge – sounds like this one is a winner, I do like menacing.

    1. I really want to read The Ice Twins now. I’m auto approved by HarperCollins and The Fire Child just appeared one day like a lovely surprise.

  2. SnazzyBooks says:

    I loved The Ice Twins and so pleased this is also a great read- need to add it to my TBR list! Don’t know how I missed requesting this on Netgalley though! 🙁

Leave a Reply

