ARC Review: The Girl From The Sea by Shalini Boland

30333569

TITLE & AUTHOR: The Girl From The Sea by Shalini Boland
PUBLISHER: Adrenalin Books
EDITION: Kindle
PUBLISHED: Expected 9 June 2016
PAGES: 306 Pages

AUTHOR WEBSITE

AMAZON.UK

AMAZON.COM

I was given an ARC by the author in exchange for an honest review.

WHAT’S IT’S ABOUT

A chilling suspense story of wounded hearts and dark secrets.

For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

Washed up on the beach, she can’t remember who she is. She can’t even remember her name. Turns out, she has a perfect life – friends and family eager to fill in the blanks.

But why are they lying to her? What don’t they want her to remember?

When you don’t even know who you are, how do you know who to trust?

OPENING

 The dark water swallows me whole, pulling me under into blackness, dropping too fast. I cannot let the water take me, so I kick and flail. I push my body up. Water flows. Bubbles stream away. The sound of air and desperate splashes. The scent of damp night. And, at last, I see the inky sky once more. I don’t have enough energy for relief. Instead, I gasp and thrash. All I know is that I must move my arms and kick my legs.

WHAT I THOUGHT 

The Girl from the Sea is one of the best thrillers I’ve ever read. The book is absolutely nuts – in a good way. What happens to Mia is terrifying. I can’t imagine having no memory of my life and not recognising my own face in the mirror. I absolutely loved the premise of the book and it’s executed perfectly. Mia, oh Mia is a wonderfully complex and sort of screwed up person. She’s a brilliant example of an unreliable narrator which is a little ironic considering she has amnesia. I had no idea where the book was going to go. I’d started to think oh this is what’s going on or that’s what’s going on only to be yanked in a different direction altogether. I love it when a book keeps me guessing, has me scratching my head wearing a confused expression or surprises me so much that my jaw smashes a hole in the floor. I adored the ending. A couple of chapters before the end the author lulls you into a false sense of security and you end up thinking you know what really happened to Mia and how things will turn out. And then you’re given one almighty kick to the gut which sends you reeling, jaw smashing into the floor. The last chapter is incredible. The Girl from the Sea is crime fiction at it’s best. I cannot wait to read the author’s next book.

RATING

5 STAR RATING

Leave a Reply

