Fiction Review: Kook by Chris Vick

29613408

KOOK BY CHRIS VICK
HARPERCOLLINS CHILDREN’S BOOKS (KINDLE), 2016
400 PAGES

BOOK PAGE (PUBLISHER’S WEBSITE)

AMAZON.UK

AMAZON.COM

NETI got a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

WHAT IT’S ABOUT

Fifteen-year old Sam has moved from the big city to the coast – stuck there with his mum and sister on the edge of nowhere.

Then he meets beautiful but damaged surfer-girl Jade. Soon he’s in love with her, and with surfing itself. But Jade is driven by an obsession: finding and riding a legendary huge wave no one has ever ridden.

As the weeks wear on, their relationship barrels forward with the force of a deep-water wave – into a storm, to danger … and to heartbreak.

OPENING

JADE GOT ME in trouble from day one.

WHAT I THOUGHT

Kook is probably the only proper YA novel I’ve read. My usual YA fare either involves vampire or werewolf boyfriends (Twilight saga), the apocalypse or books that are genre-defying (aka Patrick Ness). I wasn’t sure what to expect from Kook but I was in the mood for something different. I thought the book would be slushy and full of doe-eyed teenagers batting their eyelids at one another. I stand humbled and corrected. Kook is really good. I thoroughly enjoyed it. The romance stuff didn’t make me squirm. I liked Jade. She’s exactly the sort of girl I had crushes on when I was a teenager and still figuring out the whole gay thing. She’s sort of bad but really beautiful and has a magnetic personality. Who can blame Sam for getting all in a tizz? Kook is a light easy read for the most part. I enjoyed reading about Sam and Jade’s budding romance, Sam having his delinquent teenager moments, making friends and learning to surf. Things take unexpected turns and start to get a little dark. I never saw the darker moments coming and that’s when I feel hard for this book. The ending stunned me, like a punch in the gut. A good punch if there can be such a thing. The author surprised and shocked the hell out of me. Nice one!

RATING

4 STAR RATING

One Comment Add yours

  1. I usually avoid these types of books too because of the mushy romance bits, but I think I will check this one out. Thanks for sharing your review.

Leave a Reply

