Review: The Flavours of Love by Dorothy Koomson

18300173.jpg

The Flavours of Love by Dorothy Koomson
Quercus (hardback), 2013
440 Pages

Author Website

Amazon (UK)

Amazon.com

WHAT IT’S ABOUT

‘I’m looking for that perfect blend of flavours; the taste that used to be you. If I find it, I know you’ll come back to me.’

It’s been 18 months since my husband was murdered and I’ve decided to finish writing The Flavours of Love, the cookbook he started before he died. Everyone thinks I’m coping so well without him – they have no idea what I’ve been hiding or what I do away from prying eyes. But now that my 14-year-old daughter has confessed something so devastating it could destroy our family all over again, and my husband’s killer has started to write to me claiming to be innocent, I know it’s only a matter of time before the truth about me and what I’ve done is revealed to the world.

My name is Saffron Mackleroy and this is my story.

EXTRACT

‘Are you going to tell the police?’ she asks.

WHAT I THOUGHT

The Flavours of Love is yet another brilliant psychological thriller from one of my favourite writers.

I enjoyed so many things about this book. The author uses a first person narrator. I love first person narration. It can be tricky to get right. The narration in this book is spot on. I loved Saffron’s voice. I felt like I was having an intimate conversation with her on every page. This book has a lot of suspense, drama and twists and turns. I loved it. Even though you know who killed Joel pretty early on there’s so much going on this doesn’t spoil the impact of the final few chapters. This is much more than a book about a woman whose husband was murdered trying not to fall apart. There are so many layers that the author unpeels a layer at a time. I loved each little revelation.

Don’t be fooled by the cheery romantic sounding title or pretty front cover – The Flavours of Love is a top-rate thriller.

RATING

5 STAR RATING

Leave a Reply

