Poetry Review: Glasgow Zen by Alan Spence

21282082.jpg

Glasgow Zen by Alan Spence
Canongate Books (ebook), 2012
130 Pages

Poet’s Website

Amazon (UK)

Amazon.com

WHAT IT’S ABOUT

A superb new collection of haiku and other short poetic forms on the theme of Glasgow – its people, landscape, culture. As always, Spence is uniquely illuminating, witty and delightful. Incorporating some of the poems which appeared decades ago in the much sought-after collection of the same title, Glasgow Zen includes mostly new material from this highly popular and exquisite poet.

EXTRACT

GLASGOW ZEN

              On the oneness of self and universe…

IT’S AW WAN
TAE ME

Poems included:

  • Glasgow Zen
  • Jingle
  • Joshu’s Mu
  • Japanese Boxes
  • Today
  • Motorway Red
  • Rag
  • Paddy’s
  • Sing
  • Lorry
  • Song
  • Prayer Flag
  • Silver
  • Tarnish
  • Eye Of The Storm
  • Loop
  • Touching The Void
  • Same Old
  • As Light
  • Seeing Mount Fuji
  • EM
  • Football Haiku
  • The Pundits
  • Glasgow’s Full Of Poets
  • After The Japanese (1)
  • After The Japanese (2)
  • Issa
  • Ryokan
  • Santoka
  • Oracle
  • Glasgow Zen (2)
  • Coda

WHAT I THOUGHT

Glasgow Zen is a brilliant collection of poetry, a modern take on the traditional haiku form. I absolutely loved it. Some of the poems were quite traditional and others, especially the Glasgow Zen segments, Paddy’s, EM, Football Haiku, The Pundits and Glasgow’s Full Of Poets were wonderfully modern, reflecting life in a modern city. I went through a phase years ago when I really liked Haiku. I’ve bought two large collections that I’ve never got round to reading. Some other form of poetry caught my interest and my love of haiku waned. Glasgow Zen helped me discover that love again.

RATING

5 STAR RATING

3 Comments Add yours

  1. David N. says:

    I don’t read much haiku, though I review a lot of other poetry. I might have to give this a look.

Leave a Reply

