REVIEW: THE UNFORTUNATE DECISIONS OF DAHLIA MOSS BY MAX WIRESTONE

25700251

The Unfortunate Decisions of Dahlia Moss by Max Wirestone
Redhook Books (ebook), 2015
294 Pages

Author Website

Amazon (UK)

Amazon.com

I was given a free copy of this book in exchange for a review by the publisher via NetGalley.

BLURB
The odds of Dahlia successfully navigating adulthood are 3,720 to 1. But never tell her the odds.

Meet Dahlia Moss, the reigning queen of unfortunate decision-making in the St. Louis area. Unemployed broke, and on her last bowl of ramen, she’s not living her best life. But that’s all about to change.

Before Dahlia can make her life any messier on her own she’s offered a job. A job that she’s woefully under-qualified for. A job that will lead her to a murder, an MMORPG, and possibly a fella (or two?).

Turns out unfortunate decisions abound, and she’s just the girl to deal with them.

OPENING SENTENCE
The only time I ever met Jonah Long he was wearing a fake beard, a blue pin-striped captain’s outfit, and a toy pipe that blew soap bubbles.

REVIEW
The Unfortunate Decisions of Dahlia Moss is one of the funniest and most entertaining books I’ve ever read. This is the kind of novel you find yourself laughing out loud while reading, even when you’re in the canteen at work and people gape at you like you’re a three-headed winged demon (true story). I loved the concept of this novel. Dahlia is a self-proclaimed PI who’s hired to investigate the theft of a digital weapon from an online gaming world. What mad genius thought that up? I grew to love Dahlia. She’s sort of messed up but painfully real. She’s as far removed from a typical PI as it’s possible to be. I have a soft spot for freaks and geeks and people at the weirder side of the spectrum. I’m one of those so Dahlia is a kindred spirit. I also loved her room-mate Charice. There’s a lot of humour in this novel (I already said that). Even the darker moments towards the end still made me laugh and grin at times. I had no clue who’d stolen the spear or who had murdered Jonah. I love it when a writer keeps me guessing and scratching my head until the end. I’d highly recommend this lovely, funny, mad mess of a book.

RATING

5 STAR RATING

Leave a Reply

