POETRY REVIEW: THE BLOOMING OF THE LOTUS BY ROBIN LYNN BROOKS

cover71089-medium

The Blooming Of the Lotus by Robin Lynn Brooks
WriteLife Publishing (ebook), 2015
383 Pages

Poet’s Website

Amazon (UK)

Amazon.com

I was given a free copy of this book in exchange for a review from NetGalley.

BLURB
A unique resource for women incest/trauma survivors and for professionals who impact their lives. With healing tools throughout and messages of comfort, validation, strength, encouragement, and inspiration.

Survivors often feel alone in their experiences, with emotions that linger long after the trauma is over. As a survivor of incest, Robin Lynn Brooks understands the feelings. In her ground-breaking poetic memoir, The Blooming of the Lotus, she takes you on her deeply personal journey of healing. Traveling into the abyss of her past, exploring the depths of her experiences with brutal incest, violence, and torture, she journeys on her awe-inspiring quest to uncover her authentic self. The book will strike a chord with survivors, lending hope that even the deepest, darkest pit of despair can be opened to the light.

Whether you read this book sequentially or choose a chapter that resonates for you in the moment, read these poems and know you are not alone.

EXTRACT
Daddy 3/3/91
I am seventeen
when you lie down next to me
an roll your weight
closer to mine.

REVIEW
I have mixed feelings about The Blooming of the Lotus. The poems are very emotional and moved me. However, I felt very uncomfortable at times, acutely aware that I was reading about someone’s personal experiences. I’m not a survivor of abuse but my partner is, although the abuser was not a family member. She rarely talks about what happened and to be honest I don’t want to know all of the details. I hoped reading The Blooming of the Lotus would help me understand her a bit better and it did. The poet makes it clear the poems are going to be hard to read but I found myself very uncomfortable with how much detail some of them contained. I understand why the poet wrote about her memories of abuse. I get that. I’ve written poems about my own experiences, for example, developing a drink problem after a relationship ended badly. I’d never show most of them to my family never mind a world full of strangers. Personally speaking, I think there are some things in a person’s private life that should remain private. For example, I’m very uncomfortable about how much detail people share about their private lives on social media sites. People invite the world into their lives and that’s not always a good thing. The Blooming of the Lotus is very emotional and heart wrenching but uncomfortable reading at times.

RATING

3 STAR RATING

Leave a Reply

