BOOK REVIEW: SON OF THE MORNING BY JOYCE CAROL OATES

son of the morning

SON OF THE MORNING BY JOYCE CAROL OATES

FAWCETT CREST BOOKS (PAPERBACK), 1978

412 PAGES 

WWW.USFCA.EDU/JCO 

BLURB FROM THE COVER

In this memorable novel, Joyce Carol Oates tells not only of the travail of a man who believes himself one of God’s Chosen but looks into the hearts of those many Americans who today follow so avidly evangelism’s word.

EXTRACT 

Whisper unto my soul, I am thy salvation.

REVIEW 

This is my first time reading Son of the Morning. I’m working my way through JCO’s back catalogue. There’s a lot I haven’t read.

I enjoyed Son of the Morning. It’s a very different novel than something I’d usually read. I don’t think I’ve read a novel about a fanatical evangelist preacher before. Son of the Morning made a pleasant change. I was a born-again evangelist many years ago so some of Nathan’s behaviour and beliefs resonated with me. The opening of Son of the Morning is one of the saddest things I’ve ever read when an underage girl is gang-raped and ends up pregnant but can’t have an abortion because the novel is set in a time when abortion is illegal. I knew I was going to like Son of the Morning. There are a lot of tense moments in the novel and some emotional ones. Son of the Morning was very good. One of the better ones from JCO’s better early works. 

 

RATING

4 STAR RATING

One Comment Add yours

  1. Pardeep says:

    Nice review, interesting read, thanks for sharing it.

Leave a Reply

