THE ADVENTURES OF TOM SAWYER BY MARK TWAIN

The+Adventures+Of+Tom+Sawyer

The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain

Kobo (e-book), first published in 1876  

288 pages  

http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/The-Adventures-Of-Tom-Sawyer/JDlbUy3o7kq1YtYhNRga1w

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Adventures_of_Tom_Sawyer

 

BLURB FROM THE COVER

Dripping with Mark Twain’s iconic wit and wisdom, The Adventures of Tom Sawyer chronicles young Tom and his best friend Huckleberry Finn on a life-changing journey of mischief, intrigue, and excitement. 

EXTRACT 

‘Tom!’

No answer.

‘Tom!’

No answer.

‘What’s gone with that boy, I wonder? You TOM!’

No answer.

The old lady pulled her spectacles down and looked over them about the room; then she put them up and looked out under then. She seldom or never looked THROUGH them for so small a thing as a boy; they were her state pair; the pride of her heart and were built for ‘style’, not service – she could have seen through a pair of stove lids just as well. She looked perplexed for a moment, and then said, not fiercely, but still loud enough for the furniture to hear:

‘Well, I lay, if I get a hold of you I’ll –‘

REVIEW 

I thought The Adventures of Tom Sawyer was okay. Twain’s novel was readable and not much else. I thought I would enjoy this classic novel a lot more because I really enjoyed The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn but I thought The Adventures of Tom Sawyer was much weaker. The novel is set along the Mississippi River and I enjoyed this setting. Twain does a really good job of bringing the way of life in the late 19th century to life. Much of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer is written in American vernacular. Twin is very skilled in bringing this dialect to life and making it an enjoyable reading experience. I tend to avoid novels written in any form of vernacular. I think Trainspotting by Irvine Welsh is awful and it’s written in vernacular and I hardly understand a word of it. I had no issues with understanding The Adventures of Tom Sawyer. I also want to applaud Twain for tackling racism during the period the novel is set. However, these factors to not add up to an enjoyable novel. I understand why The Adventures of Tom Sawyer is considered an important novel but for a work of fiction it falls short for me. I thought there were some funny moments but large chunks of the novel are tedious. I also got tired of Tom getting away with some pretty nasty things because he’s such a lovable scamp. I just really disliked Tom as a character which made it impossible to get behind his actions and I was glade when I reached the final page. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn is a better novel.

RATING

1 STAR

Leave a Reply

