THE GOSPEL OF LOKI BY JOANNE M HARRIS

GOSPEL OF LOKI

GENERAL INFORMATION

TITLE: THE GOSPEL OF LOKI

AUTHOR: JOANNE M HARRIS

PAGES: 302

PUBLISHER: GOLLANCZ

YEAR: 2014

GENRE: FANTASY FICTION

www.joanne-harris.co.uk

Harris has become one of my favourite writers. I love Norse Mythology. Loki has always been my favourite God. I’ve wanted to read The Gospel of Loki for months since I read about it on her website. This is from my own collection. I’ll be taking a break from the library for a while. I’ve accumulated a lot of new books I want to read before getting anything out of the library.

BLURB FROM THE COVER

With his notorious reputation for trickery and deception, and an ability to cause as many problems as he solves, Loki is a Norse god like no other. Demon-born, he is viewed with deepest suspicion by his fellow gods who will never accept him as one of their own and for this he vows to take his revenge.

But while Loki is planning the downfall of Asgard and the humiliation of his tormentors, greater powers are conspiring against the gods and a battle is brewing that will change the fate of the Worlds.

From his recruitment by Odin from the realm of Chaos, through his years as the go-to man of Asgard, to his fall from grace in the build-up to Ragnarok, this is the unofficial history of the world’s ultimate trickster.

EXTRACT

ALL OF US CAME FROM FIRE AND ICE. Chaos and Order. Light and Dark. In the beginning – or back in the day – there was fire coming out of a hole in the ice, bringing disruption, turmoil and change. Change isn’t always comfortable, but it is a fact of life. And that’s where lift as we know it began, as the fires of the World Below pierced the ice of World Above.

REVIEW

I loved The Gospel of Loki. Absolutely fucking loved it. I want to give Joanne Harris a hug and thank her for bringing this great novel into the world. I loved every page, every word. The Gospel of Loki blew me away.

I love the fact Harris uses Loki as the narrator for this novel. Loki has always been my favourite of the Norse Gods. He’s got that smarmy bad boy charm. I’ve always considered Odin to be a bit of an arse. I thought Loki’s voice was great. I loved reading some of my favourite myths from his perspective. I’ve read a lot of different versions of the myths and Loki is generally painted as the bad guy. I liked reading his point of view in The Gospel of Loki. He was all ‘I’m not that bad. I’m just misunderstood. They started it’. I loved some of his snide descriptions of the other Gods. Bloody hilarious. One of the best scenes is when Loki gets drunk and says exactly what he thinks. Priceless. Harris made a great choice choosing the Trickster as the narrator.

I enjoyed Harris’s interpretation of the Norse myths. She covers pretty much everything from the creation of the Nine Worlds right up to Ragnorak, the end of the Gods. Some of the best scenes in The Gospel of Loki were towards the before and during Ragnorak. I literally flew through the pages. Harris knows her Norse myths. She sticks pretty close to the myths. I liked it when Loki implies Odin and the others are not really gods but had good PR.

I thought the relationship between Loki and his wife Sigyn was believable and hilarious. Loki likes his freedom and women. Sigyn dotes on him from afar, all doe-eyed and simpering. She likes bad boys. I loved it when Odin manipulates him into marrying her. She’s oblivious to Loki’s nasty ways. There is a great scene towards the end where Loki has been imprisoned and Sigyn is the only one who comes to see him. She’s clearly been driven mad as brush.

I liked the way Loki twists his actions. He does pretty terrible things tries to lay the blame at everyone else’s door. Odin and the other gods drove him to it because they never really trusted him, they never accepted him as one of their own and everything has been fabricated. I think I hear a harp playing.

I was completely absorbed by The Gospel of Loki and the world Harris creates. Harris tells a great story. I was riveted from the opening chapter until the final scenes of Ragnorak and the epilogue. The Gospel of Loki is great for anyone who is familiar with Norse mythology and complete novices.

RATING

5 STAR RATING

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

