BOOK REVIEW: DUMA KEY BY STEPHEN KING

DUMA KEY

GENERAL INFORMATION

TITLE: DUMA KEY

AUTHOR: STEPHEN KING

PAGES: 581

PUBLISHER: HODDER & STOUGHTON

YEAR: 2008

GENRE: HORROR FICTION

COVER TYPE: HARD BACK

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Duma_Key

www.stephenking.com

BLURB FROM THE COVER

When Edgar Freemantle moves to the remote island of Duma Key to escape his past, he doesn’t expect to find much there.

But Duma has been waiting for him, and something in the view from his window urges him to discover a talent he never knew he had.

Edgar Freemantle begins to paint. And as he paints, the island’s secrets begin to stir. Secrets of children lost in the undertow, of a ghost ship riding the distant horizon – and a family’s buried past reaching long hands into the present…

REVIEW

HIGHLIGHTS: One again King does a great job with characterisation. There are a lot, and I mean a lot of characters in Duma Key, minor and major. King manages to make all of them real. Even the most minor. I never felt there were too many characters. He balanced them all really well. I was fascinated by Edgar skill as a painter developing. I love art. I really enjoyed the descriptions of his painting’s and the show at the gallery. Duma Key reminded me in some way of King’s story, The Road Virus Heads North about a painting that comes to life. I liked the little flashback’s to Elizabeth’s past in the sections sub-headed ‘how to draw a picture’. This was a nice way of adding backstory without making it dull and boring. I loved the scene towards the end of Duma Key when Edgar, Wireman and Jack go to the house Elizabeth grew up in to drown Perse back to sleep. Who doesn’t love novels about an evil spirit who comes to life in the form of a doll? There were some chilly moments in Duma Key.

LOWLIGHTS: I hate the title of the novel. Duma Key is really dull. It’s the name of the part of Florida where the novel is set and is an actual place. Other than that the title serves no purpose. A writer as good as King could have come up with something better. I felt quite sceptical about Edgar suddenly becoming psychic because he lost his arm. However, I did look this up on the internet and there are a lot of alleged cases of similar things happening.

THE OPENING LINE

My name is Edgar Freemantle…

FINAL THOUGHTS

I thought Duma Key was great. Duma Key is a good old-style horror novel with ghost and crazy shit going on. I think Duma Key is the best King’s written over the past few years, a return to the great novels he wrote in the past.

RATING

5 STAR RATING

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. When I first saw this title BOOK REVIEW: DUMA KEY BY STEPHEN KING The Book Lover& on google I just whent and bookmark it. Definitely believe that which you said. Your favorite reason seemed to be on the net the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get irked while people think about worries that they just do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people can take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

  2. When I first saw this title BOOK REVIEW: DUMA KEY BY STEPHEN KING The Book Lover& on google I just whent and bookmark it. I was reading some of your blog posts on this site and I think this web site is rattling instructive! Retain putting up.

  3. It requires instance, however it is significant, since you may get right to the most effective final choice, and also finest option could possibly typically help you to save you outrageous amounts.

  4. When I first saw this title BOOK REVIEW: DUMA KEY BY STEPHEN KING | The Book Lover& on google I just whent and bookmark it. I in addition to my friends happened to be trying at the wonderful pointers found in your internetsite while shortly I had a horrible feeling I by no means thanked the blog owner for these strategies. The boys got here absolutely joyful to see all of them and now have completely been having fun with these things. I recognize you for indeed being certainly variety after which for obtaining some fantastic topic areas hundreds of thousands of individuals are really desirous to be informed on. My sincere regret for not expressing gratitude to sooner.

Leave a Reply

