BOOK REVIEW: BEASTS & SUPER BEASTS BY SAKI

beasts and super beasts

GENERAL INFORMATION

TITLE: BEASTS & SUPER BEASTS

AUTHOR: SAKI

PAGES: 240

PUBLISHER: KOBO

YEAR: 1914

GENRE: SHORT FICTION

COVER TYPE: E BOOK

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Beasts_and_Super-Beasts

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saki

BLURB FROM THE BACK COVER

1914. Saki (pseudonym of H. H. Munro), English author, is best known for his witty, sometimes whimsical, often cynical and bizarre short stories; they are collected in Reginald, The Chronicles of Clovis, Beasts and Super-Beasts, and other volumes. Contents of Beasts and Super-Beasts include: The She-Wolf; Laura; The Boar-Pig; The Brogue; The Hen; The Open Window; The Treasure-Ship; The Cobweb; The Lull; The Unkindest Blow; The Romancers; The Schartz-Metterklume Method; The Seventh Pullet; The Blind Spot; Dusk; A Touch of Realism; Cousin Teresa; The Yarkand Manner; The Byzantine Omelette; The Feast of Nemesis; The Dreamer; The Quince Tree; The Forbidden Buzzards; The Stake; Cloves on Parental Responsibilities; A Holiday Task; The Stalled Ox; The Story-Teller; A Defensive Diamond; The Elk; Down Pens; The Name-Day; the Lumber-Room; Fur; The Philanthropist and the Happy Cat; and On Approval…

REVIEW

This was a free e-book from www.kobo.com.

HIGHLIGHTS: I enjoyed the first few stories and found them amusing. The She Wolf was one I really liked. I liked Saki’s crisp, simple language. There wasn’t a drop of heavy, overbearing prose in sight. The stories were a nice length on my Kobo and I could get through two or three during my breaks at work. I laughed out loud a few times. I really liked the titles Saki uses for the stories. They fit really well.

LOWLIGHTS: I downloaded this because a friend recommended Saki. I’m glad I didn’t fork out any money for it. I found the stories very dull overall. Saki’s simple language becomes boring very quickly. I like the cynicism and wry humour at first and laughed a few times. However, this didn’t take long to grate and every story was disappointingly similar. I was left the impression Saki was a one trick pony incapable of stepping outside a box.  

THE OPENING LINE 

LEONARD BILSITER was one of those people who have failed to find this world attractive or interesting and who have sought compensation in an ‘unseen world’ of their own experience or imagination – or invention (The She-Wolf)  

FINAL THOUGHTS

The stories in Beasts & Super Beasts would be okay on an individual basis but as a collective whole they’re quite weak. Saki’s cynicism and wry humour was fun at first but quickly started to grate and took on an almost gimmick quality. It reminded me of reading a collection of Ray Bradley stories that contained eight or nine Martian tales in a row. One or two were all right but any more was just overkill.

 

RATING

2-star-rating

5 Comments Add yours

  1. contact-sex says:

    Hi you have a great weblog over here! Thanks for sharing this interesting information for us! If you keep up this great work I’ll visit your site again. Thanks!

  2. sexcam nl says:

    This is a top blog over here. I think I’ll visit your website more if you post more of this kind of specific information. Many thanks for posting this information.

  3. When I first saw this title E-BOOK REVIEW: BEASTS & SUPER BEASTS BY SAKI The Book Lover& on google I just whent and bookmark it. About Dress Shirts .

  4. When I first saw this title E-BOOK REVIEW: BEASTS & SUPER BEASTS BY SAKI The Book Lover& on google I just whent and bookmark it. By far essentially the most concise and updated data I have found on this topic. I’m glad that I navigated to your page. I’ll be now subscribing to your feed so that I can get the newest updates. Appreciate all the information here.

  5. When I first saw this title E-BOOK REVIEW: BEASTS & SUPER BEASTS BY SAKI The Book Lover& on google I just whent and bookmark it. I have been exploring for a bit for any high-quality articles or blog posts on this sort of space . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this site. Reading this information So i’m satisfied to express that I’ve an incredibly excellent uncanny feeling I found out just what I needed. I most certainly will make sure to don’t omit this site and provides it a glance on a constant basis.

Leave a Reply

