BOOK REVIEW: THE LAST BATTLE BY C S LEWIS

book cover the chronicles of narnia

GENERAL INFORMATION

TITLE: THE LAST BATTLE

AUTHOR: C S LEWIS

PAGES: 105

PUBLISHER: HARPER COLLINS

YEAR: 1956

GENRE: FANTASY / CHILDREN’S FICTION

COVER TYPE: PAPER BACK

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_last_battle

http://cslewis.com

BLURB FROM THE COVER

Journeys to the end of the world, fantastic creatures and epic battles between good and evil – what more could any reader ask for in one book? That book was The Lion, The Witch & The Wardrobe, written in 1949 by C S Lewis. But Lewis did not stop there. Six more books followed and together they became known as The Chronicles of Narnia.

For the past fifty years, The Chronicles of Narnia have transcended the fantasy genre to become part of the canon of classic literature. Each of the seven books is a masterpiece, drawing the reader into a world where magic meets reality and the result is a fictional world whose scope has fascinated generations.

This edition presents all seven unabridged books in one impressive volume. The books are presented according to Lewis’s preferred order, each chapter graced with illustrations by the books’ original artist, Pauline Baynes. Deceptively simple and direct, The Chronicles of Narnia continue to captivate fans with adventures, characters and truths that speak to readers of all ages, even fifty years after they were first published…

REVIEW

PLOT SUMMARY: A dumb donkey called Puzzle allows his friend; a snide ape called Shift to dress him up in the skin of a dead lion and pretend to be Aslan. It doesn’t take long for Shift to order the talking animals into slavery with the neighbouring Calormenes and cut down talking tress to sell. King Trinian asks for help and is joined by Eustace Scrubb and Jill Pole from The Silver Chair who determine to reveal the false Aslan and save Narnia.

HIGHLIGHTS: The Last Battle is a very sad book. I actually shed a few years when Narnia is destroyed and Lewis reveals that Peter, Edmund, Lucy, Eustace and Jill died in their own world and are in Aslan’s world forever. This was a good thing because Lewis made me feel very real emotions. I felt very sorry for the donkey Puzzle who was led into the whole thing by Shift. Poor little creature. I thought the ending of The Last Battle was great. Aslan allow the creatures who show loyalty to him to live in in Aslan’s country, the real Narnia. So The Last Battle had sort of a happy ending. The narrative techniques used in The Last Battle are the same as The Silver Chair. Lewis doesn’t directly address the reader like he does in previous novels. The kindly grandfather telling a bedtime story vibe is gone. This works however and makes The Last Battle flow the same as The Silver Chair. I loved the part where all the previous Kings and Queens of Narnia, including Frank and his wife from The Magician’s Nephew turn up.

LOWLIGHTS:  There wasn’t anything I didn’t dislike about The Last Battle. Lewis gets a big thumbs up for this one.

THE OPENING LINE

In the last days of Narnia, far up to the west beyond Lantern Waste and close beside the great waterfall, there lived an Ape…

FINAL THOUGHTS

The Last Battle was the final chronicle of Narnia to be published.

Like The Horse & His Boy and The Magician’s Nephew, The Last Battle has never been adapted for screen.

RATING

4 STAR RATING

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow, this one has a lot of emotions. I must admit that I did not expect that ending. But it feels appropriate enough for the story. I just wonder what that means for the characters in the real world? If you die in Narnia, what happens to your body and your relatives/friends on the outside?
    –JW

  2. When I first saw this title BOOK REVIEW: THE LAST BATTLE BY C S LEWIS The Book Lover& on google I just whent and bookmark it. Hi there, I found your web site via Google while looking for a related topic, your site came up, it looks great. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

  3. When I first saw this title BOOK REVIEW: THE LAST BATTLE BY C S LEWIS The Book Lover& on google I just whent and bookmark it. Terrific work! That is the type of information that are meant to be shared across the net. Shame on Google for no longer positioning this submit upper! Come on over and talk over with my site . Thanks =)

  4. When I first saw this title BOOK REVIEW: THE LAST BATTLE BY C S LEWIS The Book Lover& on google I just whent and bookmark it. I appreciate, cause I found just what I was looking for. You have ended my 4 day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day. Bye

  5. That is very fascinating, You’re an excessively skilled blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look forward to in the hunt for extra of your magnificent post. Also, I have shared your web site in my social networks

  6. I blog frequently and I seriously appreciate your content. The article has really peaked my interest. I am going to book mark your website and keep checking for new details about once a week. I subscribed to your RSS feed as well.

  7. many thanks for sharing source files. thanks

  8. Thanks for the sensible critique. Me and my neighbor were just preparing to do some research about this. We got a grab a book from our area library but I think I learned more from this post. I’m very glad to see such fantastic info being shared freely out there.

Leave a Reply

